Caravan Diaries

Caravan Diaries – Monday 22 August 2016

_DSC8339

Our very first caravan trip in our little Bailey Ranger 380/2. My goal was to tow it to Filey without mounting any curbs, hitting any bollards, knocking over any old ladies etc etc. I set off a bit too quick down Newbold with Kate pressing the imaginary breaks on her passenger side and clinging to the passenger door. By the time we’d got to the M1 I’d managed to slow down a bit and thus started getting used to the correct towing speed, breaking distances and slow accelerations. My passenger settled down and stopped shrieking instructions at me as well, bonus !

We got to Filey in about two and a half hours which was surprising as Kate pointed out that normally we get stuck behind caravans and it’s about the time it normally takes, probably because this time we were in front and cars were stuck behind us !

P1060045

The view

We’re at a small site at Reighton Sands, just around the bay from Filey itself. We’ve got a good view over the sea and today there’s a wonderful light summer breeze. Just right. Out neighbours in a Peugeot Motor Home are Phil and Sandra. They’re from South Wingfield just down the road from Crich Stand ( a few miles from our home ). Phil used to be a Textile Engineer and Sandra worked in a Benefit Office. Latterly they’ve worked for the Camping and Caravanning Club as site wardens. Now because of health reasons they cover for other wardens who need a break from the season. Phil has a ‘dodgy ticker’. They’re as nice a couple as you could wish to meet and I feel somewhat reassured that there’s an expert next door only too happy to share some hints and tips to this fresher.

Brenda the site owner is pleasant; we’ve stayed here before. When I phoned to book I told her we’d been before and she remembered Harry our Border Terrier. Her private garden has a largish Carp pond and an eclectic mix of character planters. Round the back she keeps hens and a couple of Indian Runner ducks which she tells me aren’t good for much at all. Nevertheless there’s an Indian Runner Duck Association based in Wales. Round the back there’s some large outbuildings which in the times I’ve been there I’ve never seen open so they might be some kind of weapons storage or drugs factory but are most probably caravan storage. Brenda’s not in the best of health. Managing the site since the death of her husband has not been easy and this could well be her last season.

_DSC8512

Brenda’s planter.

I didn’t have a brilliant night’s sleep. My back was aching and my bed is about 5 inches too small. Worse, Harry spent the night on and off scratching his belly with his back leg drumming on the caravan floor. I had to apply some Sudacrem on him twice to get him to settle down. Kate has put him back on the Piriton today. She’s a bit upset I didn’t sleep too good in my first caravan night and has set about thinking a solution. It soon happens. By using the seat backs we can build an extension up from the floor and I can stretch out. I think it will work. I wake up at sunrise for a piss and as we’ve not got the cludgy water system working yet I step outside. The sun coming up over the sea is fabulous, all pinks and oranges and blues. I love these sea views.

P1060071

