D is for Desire

_DSC6558

D is for Dog –

D is always for dog. Dear lord please make me the kind of person my dog thinks I am.

D is for Death

Two things certain in life;  death and taxes. Someone once said to me there’s actually three; death, taxes and student nurses but that’s a bit sexist so I’ll stick with two. Anyway I once went out with a student nurse and it’s not true. Was it Woody Allen said ” I’m not afraid of dying I just don’t want to be there when it happens “. The fact is that nobody gets out of here alive. Death is the ultimate leveller. Is the central tenet of religion, any religion, to allay our fear of dying ?  That if we behave ourselves according to the religious teachings we will go to heaven, nirvana, Bolton or wherever. This notion that there is something after death. That we exist in some kind of state somewhere. That our bodies are just shells that our souls exist in while we are active on earth ? That when we die we go some place? Is there such a thing as heaven and if so will we be able to walk on the grass and will there be chocolate ?

D is for Desire

D is for Darkness

It’s not easy to photograph darkness. There must always be light somewhere.

D is for Democracy

Yes it’s a good idea !

D is for Diary

Keep a diary.

