English Lawns

_DSC6185

Good Friday April 3rd 2015

Agnostic vs. atheist. An atheist lacks faith in God, believes there is no god, or lacks awareness of gods. An agnostic either believes that it is impossible to know whether there is a god or is noncommittal on the issue.

I ventured into town yesterday what with it being Good Friday. I thought there might be some religious activity outside our quite famous Crooked Spire which I could photograph as part of my documenting my home town project.  Apparently there was, some ecumenical Good Friday walk thing but I missed it by about half an hour. My planning these day’s is sadly lacking. I thought about going into the Church of St Mary ( our Crooked Spire) but I had the dog with me  and dog’s aren’t allowed to go in and pray. So much for ‘All Creatures Great and Small’ !. Don’t talk to me about animals in church, I’ve seen that Vicar of Dibley episode !
Despite it being Good Friday the only other activity of a religious nature was two Jehovah’s Witnesses stood in this empty shop doorway. I think I recognised the bloke in the Inspector Clouseau raincoat. We used to work at the same place and so did his daughter whom I quite fancied but I have to admit her beliefs in the whole Jehovah thing put me off a bit. She was very nice though,and attractive.
What if there isn’t a God though ? No God ! no Allah ! no Buddah, no nothing ? What if the whole God thing, the Bible and the Koran and all the other scriptures were just an elaborate big ploy written by somebody to allay and pacify the fear of death, the ultimate end. If you don’t do this or that you won’t go to heaven you’ll be eternally damned.  That when we die, we don’t go anywhere. At our last breath that’s it, nothing. The end. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust, fun to funky we know Major Tom’s a junky. So matter whether we do good or evil it actually makes not one bit of bloody difference because the world is being sucked into a giant black hole and it simply won’t exist anymore anyway.  When you think about it the only two groups of people not causing any problems in the world today are the agnostics and the atheists ?

I wish graffiti writers would learn to spell properly and don’t get me started on the apostrophe. I’m not saying my written English is brilliant but come on !  As a friend of mine pointed out the other day the apostrophe is the difference between ‘Your shit and you’re shit’. I think the writer realised they had missed the ‘L’ out of English but still didn’t get it right. Ah yes the English lawn will soon be upon us my dear friends. Tea and croquet on the lawn anyone ?

P1050177

